Schubert Chamber Group String Quintet In Cmajor II - Adagio

The #1 Musical Experience

31-05-2022 • 15 mins

Schubert String Quintet

The String Quintet in C major, D. 956 - and often referred to as Op. posth. 163- was Franz Schubert's final chamber work. It is a cello quintet, in the sense that it is scored for a standard string quartet lineup plus an additional cello -with the viola being by far the most common choice. The work has been described as a chamber music masterpiece, and since its public performance in 1850 and its publication in 1853, it has gained status as one of Schubert's finest works. Get bonus content on Patreon

Hosted on Acast. See for more information.